Family & Relationships, Gymnastics, University of Oklahoma

My Team > Yours

13043662_10201569112346129_5929236924412887142_nPlease pass the cheese platter, ’cause I’m coming at ya with a whole lot of w(h)ine.

I am on the cusp of my senior year of college, and as much as I am being told my life is just beginning, it seems to feel more and more like a scene from Independence Day. I have been trying to prepare myself for my final last few weeks of school… Emphasis on trying. I don’t know that there’s much I can do to prepare myself for the unknown. So, for now, I am writing.

My college experience would not be what it has been, had the people I loved not be a part of it. I have many people to thank, many people I will miss, and many people I am scared to lose touch with. BUT I am going to dedicate this post to my teammates because well, ya know, we just won a NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP!

Learning to build a family away from home is one of the biggest challenges that college holds. Whereas it may be easy to shy away from the unknown and sit inside watching Netflix (nothing wrong with that sometimes), your favorite TV show won’t take you to get snow cones after a rough day. Your favorite movie won’t laugh off a stressful test or cry with you. Being able to rely on people that have been there through the ugliest and most beautiful moments are what make college friends, family.

I was lucky to be a part of a team that became my family. Just like family, my team has little disagreements. My team has “off” days and practices. My team struggles through the falls, injuries, and losses. But we aren’t JUST a team who trains together 20 hours a week. We are friends… We eat together; we laugh and cry together. My team is my family… And my team means the world to me. My team makes me forget what not having a big family feels like. My team is the strongest group of women I have ever met. My team is something I will never forget. Even as days pass, trophies rust, and pictures get lost, the memories I have with my team will be with me forever. They helped contribute to who I am. We wrote history together. This team…this family…is truly special. And I am grateful for the family I have here in Norman. Because the truth is – I would not be where I am today without the support, encouragement, and love from my teammates.

College has offered me this amazing reality. The same reason that I am truly grateful is the same reason that I get nauseous upon thinking of post-grad life… But I am fortunate to have something I am afraid of losing.
I want to use this blog post as a thank you to all of my teammates and coaches, and all my college friends, that have turned into the protective dads, the nurturing mothers, and the annoying yet absolutely lovable siblings.

Cheers to all of you!13015537_10201557253369662_5184096844542043151_n

Leave a Reply

