Advice, Family & Relationships, Humor, Personal Growth

Things I’ll Want My Daughter to Know

Should I ever be lucky enough to have you, my sweet little girl, these are some things I want you to know.
You will be raised saying “yes ma’am” and “no sir.” You will chew with your mouth closed. That includes chewing gum. Elbows will not be on the table and phones will not be allowed during meal times. If you’re like me, you will probably write with your left hand and do just about everything else with your right. I will be strict in teaching you proper grammar and spelling like my mom was with me. But this is all basic. What I’d really like you to know is this:

  1. Beautiful people don’t just happen. Life is all about experience.
  2. Being strong has nothing to do with holding in your feelings.
  3. You will always be too much of something for someone: too loud, too quiet, too big, too edgy. But if you round out your edges, you lose your edge. Be yourself.
  4. Embrace your awkwardness.f583cbaf13d1ecaab5e583f83fc22744
  5. Many, many people suck. But many people also rock. And that’s all that counts.
  6. Cliché but SO true: almost everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about. Be kind.
  7. Don’t define yourself by your physical attributes. (Do as I say, not as I do.)
  8. “Swag” is the most attractive feature a woman can have. Define it by your confidence, intelligence, strength, and self-worth.
  9. How will you know what you want until you experience what you don’t want?
  10. You’ll never be too old to snuggle and watch a movie with me.mother-and-daughter
  11. Some days you will feel miserable and that is more than okay. Maybe it’s because of a breakup, a fight with a friend, or life’s just letting you down. Whatever it is – keep in mind that the harder you slam a ball into the ground, the higher it bounces back.
  12. Learn how to say “NO.” This is important.
  13. Read lots of books. You can always borrow from me. I have a multitude of sorts.
  14. Tattoos are permanent. Think long and hard before getting one.
  15. Always go straight to the source.
  16. Cliché again: Never, ever waste time regretting. If you made a mistake, learn from it and move on. “Focus all your energy, not on fighting the old, but on building the new.” ~ Socrates39178-Socrates-Quote-The-secret-of-change-is-to-focus-all-of-your-energy
  17. You can come to me for ANYTHING.
  18. Don’t be afraid to fail.
  19. Take responsibility for your actions. Apologize when you’re wrong. Accountability goes a long way.
  20. Repeat after me: I. Am. Worthy.l-139754
  21. I pray you’ll save yourself for the right person… for marriage.
  22. I will love you no matter whom you choose to love.
  23. When people talk to you, LISTEN to them.
  24. Quality > Quantity.
  25. You are not better than anyone, and no one is better than you.
  26. Don’t gossip. Except with me. 😉tumblr_n2jl8fk0wn1rcb0d2o1_500
  27. Always look people in the eyes when you’re talking to them.
  28. Don’t take things too personally.
  29. Don’t EVER drink and drive.
  30. Know your limits, and exceed them. Except when you’re drinking.
  31. My hugs are free and available 24/7.1234711_3407234116097_421694381_n
  32. Be impeccable with your word.
  33. Being “intimidating” is not a bad thing. You may be told you have an RBF. It’s okay.
  34. Don’t be naïve.
  35. Start saving your money as early as possible. Your future self will thank you.
  36. Looking for answers to life’s big questions? Read the Calvin & Hobbe’s collection before you come to me.
    c355c95f0b256803e6150f4a7766d2d3
  37. Never skip breakfast.
  38. Always have a phone charger with you. Always.
  39. Everything in moderation.
  40. Be blind to gender, race, sexuality, and religious beliefs. People are people.
  41. Embrace wanderlust. Never hold back your desire to explore.the-field-tree-road-clouds-night-sunset
  42. Don’t bite your nails. And don’t pick your cuticles. Just leave your dang fingers alone. Trust me, it’s a habit too hard to be broken.
  43. Above all, I love you.
Leave a Reply

